Bug#233974: [Pkg-alsa-devel] Bug#233974: alsa-base: rebooting after single user mode trashes mixer settings
David B Harris
Thu, 26 Feb 2004 19:29:47 -0500
tags 233974 + pending
On Fri, 20 Feb 2004 19:35:52 -0600
Ryan Underwood <firstname.lastname@example.org> wrote:
> When booting into single user mode with 'single' option to kernel, the
> ALSA init script is not executed to restore the previous mixer settings.
> However, after issuing 'reboot', the init script is executed to _save_
> the mixer settings, which were never restored! Thus, the default mixer
> settings get saved, wiping out all customizations.
> I'm not sure of a way to solve this, but I think it is a problem; any
> time the user takes the system to single user to do maintainence, mixer
> settings are destroyed. Any ideas?
This, I think, is fixed in CVS. Not sure, it needs some testing. Anyhoo,
here's a snippet from debian/changelog:
- debian/alsa-base.conf, debian/alsa-base.init: Add support to set the
runlevels within which mixer settings will be saved (the same setting is
also used to determine *from* which runlevels we'll be saving mixer
settings). Now if you boot into single-user mode and reboot right from
there, mixer settings won't be saved (so on your next mute you'll have
your normal levels, not all-muted). (Closes: #233974)